cheering kids

Microsoft students qualify for National Competition

Three Microsoft Office Applications students have placed with State times in a Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) competition as spring qualifiers.

Sophomore Kylie Woody took first place in Word 2013 and sophomore Holly Gannon placed first in Excel 2013. Sophomore Mackenzie Harting placed second in Word 2013. Woody and Gannon have received invitations to the National Competition in June in Orlando. They will join freshman Clare McKeirnan, who was the fall qualifier in PowerPoint 2013, at Nationals. 

To qualify, students needed to achieve a perfect score on their respective Certification exam, as well as complete it in an especially fast time.

The test has a time limit of 50 minutes, which leaves many students with no time to spare. Gannon and Woody, in order to take the spring State Champion titles, completed perfect-score certification exams.  


JROTC member awarded National Junior Distinguished Shooter's Badge

Blue Devil JROTC Cadet Major Madeline Erikson became the 8th Wa-Hi shooter in school history to be awarded the National Junior Distinguished Shooter’s Badge this week by the Civilian Marksmanship Program, a national organization located in Camp Perry, Ohio. 

The National Junior Distinguished Badge is awarded to marksmanship competitors who appear consistently in the top percentage of shooters in sanctioned national and regional shooting competitions. The program, which has been in existence for over 15 years, has only awarded about 1,000 badges nationally to date. 

To earn the badge, shooters must accumulate at least 30 Excellence In Competition (EIC) Points, which are awarded in sanctioned rifle matches. The points are based on the number of competitors at an event, the shooter’s placement at the event, and the level at which the shooters are competing. Of the 30 points required to earn the badge, 10 must be earned at national level competitions.

Erikson, a 17-year-old senior who recently signed her National Letter of Intent to compete on West Point’s NCAA Division I Rifle Team, joins past shooters Amber Criss, Sarah Jameson, Caitlyn Lasseigne, Allison Juergensen and Nathan Brewer in earning this honor, all of whom received NCAA college rifle scholarship offers after their shooting careers at Wa-Hi.

Subscribe to this RSS feed

Walla Walla High School

WAHI logoletters web800 Abbott Road
Walla Walla, WA 99362
Ph) 509-527-3020
Fx) 509-527-3034

Safety Tipline: 855-976-8772

The Walla Walla School District does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, honorably discharged veteran or military status, sexual orientation including gender expression or identity, the presence of any sensory, mental, or physical disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal by a person with a disability in its programs and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The Assistant Director of Human Resources, 364 South Park Street, Walla Walla, Washington 99362, (509) 527-3000, has been designated to handle questions and complaints of alleged discrimination.